Emergency Preparedness

Region 52 - 700MHz Regional Plan

UPDATE: This plan has been submitted to the FCC for approval. Upon review, the FCC is requiring that new letter of concurrence from the adjacent regions of 7, 16, 29, 34, 40 and 50 be obtained. Once these updated Letters of Concurrence have been secured, the Region 52 – 700MHz plan will then be approved by the FCC.

Region 52 is comprised of the following 52 counties in the Panhandle and South Plains of Texas;
Dallam, Sherman, Hansford, Ochiltree, Lipscomb, Hartley, Moore, Hutchinson, Roberts, Hemphill, Oldham, Potter, Carson, Gray, Wheeler, Deaf Smith, Randall, Armstrong, Donley, Collingsworth, Parmer, Castro, Swisher, Briscoe, Hall, Childress, Bailey, Lamb, Hale, Floyd, Motley, Cottle, Hardeman, Foard, Wilbarger, Wichita, Clay, Montague, Jack, Young, Archer, Baylor, King, Dickens, Crosby, Lubbock, Hockley, Cochran, Yoakum, Terry, Lynn, and Garza.

Region 52 covers 49,198 square miles and is composed of three Texas Councils of Governments. They are:

Panhandle Regional Planning Commission (PRPC):
- 26,000 Sq. Miles, 26 Counties, Population 427,927.

South Plains Association of Governments (SPAG):
- 13,737 Sq. Miles, 15 Counties, Population 436,699.

NORTEX Regional Planning Commission (NORTEX):
- 9,461 Sq. Miles, 11 Counties, Population 222,820.

Document Library:

Region 52 - 700MHz Full Plan - January 29, 2016 (PDF: 5.06MB, Updated 01-29-2016)

Contact Information

Lori Gunn

Regional Services Director
Email: lgunn@theprpc.org
Phone: (806)372-3381
Fax: (806)373-3268

Shane Brown

Regional Services Program Manager
Email: sbrown@theprpc.org
Phone: (806)372-3381
Fax: (806)373-3268

Criminal Justice Planning Fund (Fund 421) Source: A biennial appropriation by the Texas Legislature from funds collected through court costs and fees. Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, §102.056 and §102.075. Section 772.006 of the Texas Government Code designates CJD as the Fund's administering agency.
FY Appropriation: Set annually
Purpose: Support a wide range of projects designed to reduce crime and improve the criminal and juvenile justice systems.
Eligibility: State agencies, units of local government, independent school districts, nonprofit corporations, Native American tribes, COGs, universities, colleges, hospital districts, juvenile boards, regional education service centers, community supervision and corrections departments, crime control and prevention districts, and faith-based organizations are eligible to apply for grants under this fund.  Faith-based organizations must be certified by the Internal Revenue Service as tax-exempt nonprofit entities.  Grantees may not use grant funds or program income for proselytizing or sectarian worship.
Award Criteria: Meet the criteria codified in the TAC, Title 1, Part 1, Chapter 3, Subchapter C, Division 1
Frequency of Award: Annual


Close this window