Emergency Preparedness

Region 52 – 800MHz NPSPAC Plan Amendment

Approved by the FCC in June 2009; this amendment establishes the 800MHz channel assignments/allocations made to the jurisdictions within the 52-county area of Region 52. This amendment was created in response to an FCC rebanding effort designed to eliminate potential interference to public safety communications within the band. Planning regions were required to shift by fifteen megahertz from the original NPSPAC band of 821-824/866-869 MHz down to the new band of 806-809/851- 854 MHz to eliminate the potential for conflict.

Region 52 is comprised of the following 52 counties in the Panhandle and South Plains of Texas;
Dallam, Sherman, Hansford, Ochiltree, Lipscomb, Hartley, Moore, Hutchinson, Roberts, Hemphill, Oldham, Potter, Carson, Gray, Wheeler, Deaf Smith, Randall, Armstrong, Donley, Collingsworth, Parmer, Castro, Swisher, Briscoe, Hall, Childress, Bailey, Lamb, Hale, Floyd, Motley, Cottle, Hardeman, Foard, Wilbarger, Wichita, Clay, Montague, Jack, Young, Archer, Baylor, King, Dickens, Crosby, Lubbock, Hockley, Cochran, Yoakum, Terry, Lynn, and Garza.

Region 52 covers 49,198 square miles and is composed of three Texas Councils of Governments. They are:

Panhandle Regional Planning Commission (PRPC):
- 26,000 Sq. Miles, 26 Counties, Population 427,927.

South Plains Association of Governments (SPAG):
- 13,737 Sq. Miles, 15 Counties, Population 436,699.

NORTEX Regional Planning Commission (NORTEX):
- 9,461 Sq. Miles, 11 Counties, Population 222,820.

Document Library:

Region 52 800MHz NPSPAC Plan Amendment (PDF: 1.57MB, Updated 04-28-2009)

Contact Information

Lori Gunn

Regional Services Director
Email: lgunn@theprpc.org
Phone: (806)372-3381
Fax: (806)373-3268

Shane Brown

Regional Services Program Manager
Email: sbrown@theprpc.org
Phone: (806)372-3381
Fax: (806)373-3268

Criminal Justice Planning Fund (Fund 421) Source: A biennial appropriation by the Texas Legislature from funds collected through court costs and fees. Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, §102.056 and §102.075. Section 772.006 of the Texas Government Code designates CJD as the Fund's administering agency.
FY Appropriation: Set annually
Purpose: Support a wide range of projects designed to reduce crime and improve the criminal and juvenile justice systems.
Eligibility: State agencies, units of local government, independent school districts, nonprofit corporations, Native American tribes, COGs, universities, colleges, hospital districts, juvenile boards, regional education service centers, community supervision and corrections departments, crime control and prevention districts, and faith-based organizations are eligible to apply for grants under this fund.  Faith-based organizations must be certified by the Internal Revenue Service as tax-exempt nonprofit entities.  Grantees may not use grant funds or program income for proselytizing or sectarian worship.
Award Criteria: Meet the criteria codified in the TAC, Title 1, Part 1, Chapter 3, Subchapter C, Division 1
Frequency of Award: Annual


Close this window